# **ANATOMICAL SOCIETY OF NIGERIA (ASN)**

## **National President:**

Professor T. B. EKANEM, FASN Mobile: +234-803-726-9279 Email:asn.nigeria@gmail.com theresaekanem@vahoo.com

# Our Ref: ASN/2020/001

### VICE PRESIDENT

Dr. Avannuga O. A. Department of Anatomy & Cell Biology, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences Obafemi Owolowo University, Ile-Ife. 08080710899

## **GENERAL SECRETARY**

Dr. D. S. Amaza

Department of Human Anatomy Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences Kaduna State University. 07035585716

#### ASSISTANT GEN. SECRETARY Dr. A. A. Sadeeq

Department of Human Anatomy. Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences, College of Health Sciences, ABU Zaria, Kaduna State. 08038250628

## TREASURER

Dr. E. A. Osunwoke Department of Anatomy, College of Health Sciences. University of Port Harcourt, Rivers State. 08055160338

#### **EDITOR-IN-CHIEF**

Prof. G. S. OLADIPO Department of Anatomy, College of Health Sciences. University of Port Harcourt, Rivers State. 08038509591

## SUB-FDITOR

Dr. E. J. Olotu Department of Anatomy. College of Health Sciences, University of Port Harcourt. Rivers State. 08037752394

#### **EX-OFFICIO I (Former President)** Prof. T. W. Jacks

Department of Human Anatomy, College of Medical Sciences, University of Maiduguri, Borno State. 08032882581

#### EX-OFFICIO II (Former Gen, Sec.) Prof. A. D. Zagga

Department of Anatomy, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences Usmanu Danfodio University, Sokoto State.08035175780



C/O Dept. of Anatomical Sciences, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences, **College of Medical Sciences University of Calabar Cross Rivers State, NIGERIA.** 

Date: 13<sup>th</sup> August, 2020

# **INFORMATION FROM ASN EXCO TO MEMBERS**

Dear Nigerian Anatomists,

The National Executive Committee of the Anatomical Society of Nigeria at its virtual meeting held on the 23<sup>rd</sup> of July, 2020 at 2pm, deliberated and came up with the following committees;

## A. Committee for the Implementation of B.SC, M.SC and Ph.D. Curricular

It was observed that many institutions are yet to implement the revised B.Sc.; M.Sc. and Ph.D. Curricular. To ensure compliance a committee was set up to ensure that Departments of Anatomical Sciences present and use the new curricular in their Universities to open up job opportunities for Anatomists. The members of this committee include:

1. Prof. T. W. Jacks	University of Maiduguri	Chairman
2. Prof. A. Oremosu	University of Lagos	Member
3. Prof. A. O. Igiri	University of Calabar	Member
4. Prof. E. O. Ekwere	University of Jos	Member
5. Prof. Sani H. Garba	University of Maiduguri	Member
6. Prof. A. O. Nwaopara	Edo State University, Iyamho	Member
7. Dr. S. Y. Olatunji	Babcock University	Member

# **B.** Committee for Database of Graduates of Anatomy

This committee is to ensure that we have proper database of graduates of Anatomy from all Universities that offer Anatomy at B.SC, MSC, and PhD levels:

1. Prof. B. U. Enaibe	University of Ilorin	Chairman
2. Dr. Hart O. Josiah	University of Port Harcourt	Member
3. Dr. Ugochukwu Esemonu	Cross Rivers State University	Member
4. Dr. D. O. Adeyemi	Obafemi Awolowo University	Member

# C. World Anatomy Day Celebration Committee – 15th October, 2020

This committee should be responsible for World Anatomy Celebration. The committee is to ensure that adequate publicity and updates via possible media is given to the subject of Anatomical Sciences. The day should be celebrated by all in Nigeria with emphasis on the applications of Anatomical Sciences in our National Economy. The members include;

1. Dr. O. A. Ayannuga	Obafemi Awolowo University	Chairman
2. Dr. A. E. Egwu	FUNAI	Member
3. Dr. S. A. Musa	ABU Zaria	Member
4. Dr. James A. Timbuak	Yusuf Maitama Sule University	Member
5. Dr. Agnes Nwakanma	Chukwuemaka Odumegu University	Member
6. Dr. Oghenemavwe E. L.	University of Port Harcourt	Member
7. Mrs. Khadijja Bobbo	Gombe State University	Member

## **D.** Webinar Committee

Members of this committee should arrange topics, dates and times of Webinar to the members during the lockdown. Membership of this committee includes:

1.	Prof. T. B. Ekanem	University of Calabar	Chairman
2.	Dr. O. A. Ayannuga	Obafemi Awolowo University	Member
3.	Dr. A. A. Sadeeq	ABU Zaria	Member

NB: Chairmen are the Conveners of their respective committees

More committees will be set up to handle various aspects of our challenges and we appeal that members should be willing to get involved if they are nominated to serve as members of any committee. Hence we thank the members of the above committees for their anticipated willingness to serve our great Society.

In addition members are assured that the itches surrounding the ASN Website have been resolved and the website will soon be up and important information will be posted. The ASN JOURNAL is already hosted by this website to ensure online submission and processing of articles.

Information on the Amendment of the Anatomical Act is encouraging. This will be done as soon as the lockdown is over.

**OBITUARIES**: On behalf of the Executive and members of ASN, we sincerely sympathize with the families, Departments and Universities of our members who have passed on. Publication of their Biography in our Journals is ongoing. May they Rest in Peace.

TERanem

Professor Theresa B. Ekanem **President** 

DSAmaza

Dr. Dandali Sambo Amaza Secretary General